Category Archives: Departments

Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Obstetrics and Gynaecology department is one of the clinical departments situated in the center of the faculty facility between the basic medical sciences building and the Dean’s office. It occupies the fist floor of the building shared by the department of medicine. The first head of the department was Professor Lumsden.

Internal Medicine

The Department of Medicine is situated on the ground floor of the medical school building. The activities of the department include teaching 4th 5th and 6th-year medical students. The teaching cessions are in the form of lectures, tutorials in addition to bed side clinical teaching.


Department of Orthopaedics and Traumatology is situated in the third floor of the northern building of the complex of the faculty of medicine.


Pathology is the bridging science between the basic medical sciences and clinical ones and it includes the study of disease and its main four aspects including cause of disease (etiology), mechanisms of disease development (pathogenesis), structural alterations that diseases induce in cells, tissues, and organs (morphology), and functional and clinical consequences of of the disease states.


Department of anaesthesia was established as a separate department since 1971. Before that, it was a subdepartment of the surgical department.

Skip to toolbar