Category Archives: Basic Sciences Departments


Pathology is the bridging science between the basic medical sciences and clinical ones and it includes the study of disease and its main four aspects including cause of disease (etiology), mechanisms of disease development (pathogenesis), structural alterations that diseases induce in cells, tissues, and organs (morphology), and functional and clinical consequences of of the disease states.

Community Medicine

Community Medicine is the science that deals with the health of the communities rather than the individuals. It is the science of what has been previously known as public health, preventive medicine, social medicine and community health.


Department of physiology is one of the basic medical departments, and occupies the 2nd floor of the basic sciences building. In 1951 it started by teaching physiology and biochemistry, in 1960 biochemistry became a separate department.The first head of the department was Prof. Dean A.


Initially Biochemistry and Physiology were established as one department in 1951 when Professor Dean Smith was the head department. The department has emerged as independent department in 1960.


Anatomy department is one of the basic medical departments and is situated in ground floor of the basic medical sciences building since its establishment as a separate department in 1951. 

Skip to toolbar